I’m experimenting with my first Nextcloud and Ethercalc file and didn’t expect that others would be able to see and edit files that are not shared.
I created this file: https://calc.disroot.org/=eUOn0sXXKViJxSNQ
Problem #1: In the NextCloud view (https://cloud.disroot.org/apps/files/), I clicked on the file’s sharing settings, and in the right side bar, clicked on “Share Link”. That is how I ended up with the webdav, above. I did not click on “Allow editing”. However, I went to other browsers (where I was not logged into disroot), and loaded the URL, and I can edit the file . I would have expected read-only abilities here. Why can these other contributors (me in other browsers) edit the file?
Problem #2: I then went back to the sharing settings and unset “Share Link”. I then went back to my other browsers and reloaded the URL, and I can still see and edit the file. I would have expected no ability to see the file now that it was shared. I waited 20 minutes and tried again just to give the change time to push out. Why can others (me in other browsers) still see the file even though sharing has been turned off?
Thanks for any insight you can offer.