what exactly does "wipe device" do?

hey there,

in “Settings” > “Security” > “Devices & Sessions” , all listed devices/sessions (apart from the browser session) have an option “wipe device”.

i was wondering what the option does, exactly?
does it delete all nextcloud synced files on the device?
or does it wipe the entire device?

thanks in andvance!