What is your opinion of Duck Duck Go's Browser?

I would love to see it for the PC platform.

isn’t that just chromium which means essentially, chrome and google? almost all web browsers these days run on chromium which means they are all the same apart from some small feature set. This means we are entering the InternetExplorer 2.0 era where single company can enforce new 'standards which we already see. Some websites do not render properly on anything other then chrome based browsers.

4 Likes

I use the ancient Windows 7. And a slow machine.
Duck Search works pretty well. Several months ago when I encountered Disroot I switched to Searx. Without wanting to offend sensibilities, I’ve switched back to Duck.
When I returned, they seemed to have broadened their search base.
when I used Searx, I often found results limited, and/or somewhat irrelevant.
I’m not a developer. I’m testing the waters. I find it necessary to believe what they say about privacy.
Cheers

1 Like

Where did you read that? I didn’t find this mentioned anywhere on the web. I guess it was written from scratch.

I am too in tryouts with Searx. Thinking it’s using multiple engines to search,i believed that the would be much more results but I’m not too satisfied. I’ll probably go back to using DDG.

It was my assumption hence the question nature of my statement, i would assume it is since writting your own engine from scratch is quite something and would mean yet another player.

As I checked in source code it uses the chromium webview already installed on your device. Also there are some issues referencing it (for example webrtc ip leak issue).

DDG Browser uses WebView or Chrome View (on Android 7-9, proprietary firmware) to display web pages.
Here about it :
WebView – Stoutner
https://www.stoutner.com/privacy-browser/common-settings/webview/

Security risks for using WebView (IOS,Android) - Stack Overflow

Android WebView: Secure Coding Practices - DZone Security